Unable to install WP Smush Pro locally without FTP

I am having difficulty installing WP Smush Pro locally on my machine.

I have a paid subscription however I cannot see a way to install it on my local development environment.

I have copied the wpmudev-updates directory to /wp-content/plugins which has allowed me to go into the Plugins menu and activate the WPMU Dev dashboard. From here, I could login and that gave me access to the dashboard which has an "Install" button for WP Smush Pro.

The problem I have is that both the manual install and the one-click installation require a FTP details. This is not a suitable installation method for me as I am testing this out locally and, if successful, it will then move to a testing environment where FTP access in this way is not supported.

Is there a reason why the full WP Smush Pro plugin is not made available when a subscription is taken out? If I could have the plugin code I could add it to my codebase manually.

• Adam Czajczyk

Hey Peter,

I hope you're well today and thank you for your question!

I'm not sure why the plugin is asking you to provide it with your FTP details, it never asked me! Usually, such a behavior is a sign of broken or too strict file permissions which results in WordPress not being able to save downloaded file and unpack it to /plugins/ directory. Most likely this is the issue here if you're running under Linux or under Windows but with some "restrictive" local server.

As for WP Smush PRO available after the subscription is taken out. The case here is that the plugin depends on our very own infrastructure so it's using our servers, thus in order to be able to provide plugin's users with all the computing power and storage needed for plugin to work properly, we simply do have to make WP Smush PRO available only to paying users. I hope you can understand this point of view :slight_smile:

If you have any further questions, I'll be glad to assist you!

Cheers,
    Adam

• Peter

Hi Adam,