Upront Theme/Builder Help...

Hi WPMUDEV,

I was wondering if someone can help me out a little with using Upfront. This is my first attempt at using Upfront, using a child theme (Issue) and customising it from there on.
I am use to styling my websites by hand, through CSS, so moving onto a front-end GUI mode of doing this is really taking me a while to get used to, so I apologise if my questions seem very elementary to others.

I have read the documentation on UF, and I am finding that what is outlined there doesn't seem to want to work for me. These are positioning elements that I can easily achieve with a couple of simple CSS rules, however inside of UF and using its GUI, I am finding some problems with positioning the elements to the precision where I need them to be.

The first problem I am coming across is to simply modify the header to include the navigation to run across the bottom of my header container. Every time I pick the navigation element up with my cursor to drag it to the bottom, it automatically snaps right back to the top again (the top of the header region). I thought it was because it is inside the header element, so I tried adding a new region to just below the header and then insert a navigation element into that. This then brought up two issues, it does not appear on every page – even when I make it ‘global’, and this region does not align right under the header element, so there is a gap between the two elements which I don’t want to appear.

Again if I try moving this element with the cursor, it just snaps back into its place. I know that if I was ‘hand-CSS-ing’ this I would just use the margin-top/bottom..etc, but I cannot figure out how to do it within the UF editor….