Video training for your plugins

Although I am thinking of Hummingbird today, this question could apply to most of your plugins. I was searching all over hoping to find a video tutorial on configuring the various Hummingbird tools. I mean a total walk-through of the specific plugin and the options and most importantly what they mean. I have a lot of experience front end development, but not so much back end, so some of the concepts are things I have just a shallow understand of. For example, minify - apparently that's not just compression because it's talking about moving scripts from head to foot. So that's news. But I don't understand my choices for each file: include, minify, combine, and some position thing. I have no idea what to choose or how I would determine what to choose. A tutorial would be great!

• Adam Czajczyk

Hello Dandellion,

I hope you're well today and thank you for your question!

Currently there's no such video but one of my colleagues had created a basic video guide on on how to test minification settings "one file at the time":

https://premium.wpmudev.org/forums/topic/is-there-a-tutorial#post-1189218

It's quite simple video but I think it's worth checking. There's also an official written docs for Hummingbird here:

https://premium.wpmudev.org/project/wp-hummingbird/#product-usage

As for "Minification" feature specifically, let me add a basic explanation of available options.

There are four "toggle switches" for each file listed on "Minification" page: "Include", "Minify", "Combine" and "Position". After you enable "Minification" for the first time they got automatically set up and there's actually no need to touch them if the site works well, unless you want/need to further tweak performance but I'll get to it again below (see "Position" switch description).

"Include" switch