what happens after a users membership expires

Say a user is a paid user and there membership just expired? What happens to the user?

I have a free membership, and an upgrade path to premium. If they start as free, then go premium, there membership expires, do they revert to the previous level (free)? or does it show them all membership level options if they try and log in again so they can choose, free or premium again?