What happens when someone cancels the automatic payment through paypal

OK, so when someone signs up, they are allowed access to the site. Now, when they go to paypal, and stop the automatic payment process, how will I know, or how do I verify the cancellation? Or after the allowed period of time I set per access level, does the user get dropped down back to visitor?

Please let me know If I need to be more specific?