What if a Multisite Got Hacked?

Hello,

I'm currently a WPMU DEV Member, i'm building a multisite network,and i'm curious about what if a multisite got hacked!

I have built many wordpress sites before, and i have experienced many of these hacking problems but my sites where all single wordpress installation.

I'm now a little worried about multisites vulnerability & security issues.

I have never built a multisite network before, so i have few questions in mind:

1) If a multisite network got hacked:

- Will all other sites across the network be affected?
- Is there a way to treat or disinfect a single site without having to shut down the whole network?
- Can hackers or the malicious codes damage the whole network database or just files for a signle site ?

2) I know that usually when the database of a site grow large in size it became much harder & take more time to restore that site on the hosting server. So How about a multisites with ...GB database size!

Can a backup plugin like (snapshot) help me restore my whole network incase something goes wrong oneday?

3) Finally, i would appreciate if you have any precautions or advice to best secure a multisite network

Thanks in advance,
Andrew
http://andrewrezk.com

• aristath

Hello there @Andrew Rezk, I hope you're well today!

- Will all other sites across the network be affected?

Depends on the hack... If they hack the account of that site's admin user then no. If they somehow manage to get access to your filesystem then yes.

- Is there a way to treat or disinfect a single site without having to shut down the whole network?

Again it depends on the hack.... if they got hold of the credentials of that site's administrator then yes.

- Can hackers or the malicious codes damage the whole network database or just files for a signle site ?

On a multisite, the codebase is common to all sites, and so is the database. If they manage to access that then they can affect all sites.