What's the difference between Pro Sites and Membership plugins? I have a site where visitors ca

What's the difference between Pro Sites and Membership plugins?

I have a site where visitors can only see the front page and then wherever they click I want t take them to the registration page. Once registered for free they can access the pages. And then I have a Member subscription for those who want to create their own blog on our platform. That last one is the only one they have to pay for (monthly).

• PC

Hello there,

Greetings and thanks for posting on the forums.

Pro Sites and Membership plugins serve different purpose.

1: Pro sites lets you control the blog creation by creating different levels of pro sites and providing access to different plugins/themes hence offering indepth variations to your members for being able to create a site.

2: Membership on the other hand is used for restricting access however you can also use it to control site creation but it can not offer multi level support as prosites, i.e. the members will have no restrictions on the plugins they can or can't use on the sites they create.

Both the plugins are not designed to work together so you have to choose wisely. From what I see, if you just restrict the site creation to the free members, then you should use Membership plugin.

However, you can also choose a different approach. Use Pro Sites, offer a free trial of 14 days to all users after that if they make a payment, the site keeps working else its disabled.

That ways you will get more conversion.

I hope that helps. Please feel free to ask if you have more questions on the same.

Cheers
    PC
    Sales &Support

• stephanepage

Thank you for the answer.

I don't need to limit plugins and support.

When visitors go to my site, I want them to see the home page and that's it. For them to access the content, they need to become free registered users.