Which Theme is best used for overall customizesation?

Hello,

I am a total newbie to WPMU and kindly ask you for some advice - also knowing that this might be kind of complex question and not easy to answer, but having "elite membership" (already a pSek WPMU hosting account, glad you referred to them) and still being a naive starter, I really hope for the best positive outcome...

What I am trying to accomplish is to offer a paid service for two groups of people:

1. People who would like to publish their content (The AUTHORS) - I want to provide them with a "minimalistic kind of blog" (Wordpress Theme). The content itself will be mainly pure text like with a Book or a Novel and the organization and presentation of the text should provide a "book like" reading experience. Guess the "book model" illustrates the best what I want to accomplish.

FUNCTIONALITY- For example, chapters of the customers narration could be organized as posts and some PageUp, PageDown functionality (that I would integrate) gives the impression of having single text pages (like with a book) that one can browse through. In a nutshell, the all over page layout would consist only of a header, the main text area (without sidebars!) and footer area.

The CONTENT would mainly consist only out of an "title page", an index-page showing and referring to the written chapters, as well as the single pages of text corresponding to the chapters - (having the page forward, page backward functionality integrated on it).