WHMCS MU Sub domains vs Sub directory

Hi, I'm new to WP Multisite and I'm trying to figure out the best structure for a business offering.

We have a primary domain (example.com), and are looking to host WP sites (mobile landing pages) for many businesses. I'm trying to understand if business1.example.com or example.com/business1 is a better architecture. I understand there may be a limitation for using the sub domain structure if we grow to hundreds of hosted businesses, so I don't know if there is the same limitation on the example.co/business1 structure. The sub domains I've been experimenting with (business1.example.com) create the example.com/business1 folder structure in the directory, so is it really different?

I've researched this, but I haven't found any clear direction. I'm sorry if this is really basic, but I'd like to go into this setting it up correctly. If you have anysuggestions, or links to information, I'd sure appreciate it.

• Timothy Bowers

Hey there.

We have a primary domain (example.com), and are looking to host WP sites (mobile landing pages) for many businesses. I'm trying to understand if business1.example.com or example.com/business1 is a better architecture.

I suppose really it is down to preference.

business1.example.com
    business2.example.com
    business3.example.com

All look like different sites to me.

example.com/business1
    example.com/business2
    example.com/business3

Are all part of the same site to me.

You might want to do some research on how Google and all other search engines also see the difference there when they are indexing websites.

I understand there may be a limitation for using the sub domain structure if we grow to hundreds of hosted businesses,

What limitations are they?

Edublogs host over a million blogs.

WordPress.com host over 30 million blogs.

All sub domains.