Why is Autoblog only posting excerpts instead of full articles ?

Howdy Y’all

OK – Autoblog plugin all installed, configured, up and running… the Post Excerpts setting is set to Post Full Article and the Words To Use option is left blank but in each post created from the feed – only an excerpt is put in.

In the Setting > General > Writing option the value for Each Post in a Feed is set to Full Post. Whats going wrong ?

For confirmation its not the RSS feed – I have been using the RSS Poster plugin on another site for a few years pulling content from the same RSS feed URL and it pulls in the full article just fine – no problems.

Help Please !

• Jude
    • DEV MAN

Howdy @ste

My first thought would be that the RSS feed is only providing a 180 character excerpt in place of the full feed so that’s all autoblog can pull in. If you provide a link here to the feed we’ll be happy to verify it as well.

Also please try using a trial feed (like the WPMU feed) and see how that goes as a test ?

Cheers

Jude

• Anang
    • New Recruit

Hi @ste

Trying to help here :slight_smile:

I can confirm it is the RSS Problem , the RSS you use is only support partially content. If others RSS Poster plugin can expand the content, because it has automatically expand content script. But you can some rss expander service, to made your RSS support full content. Example :

http://www.feedenlarger.com

And I have try to generate your RSS to be full content, try to put this URL to autoblog :

https://feedenlarger.com/makefulltextfeed.php?url=www.theregister.co.uk%2Fsecurity%2Fheadlines.atom&max=10&links=preserve&exc=&submit=Create+full+text+feed

Let me know if you need anything else :slight_smile:

Best Regards

• sdlx
    • Site Builder, Child of Zeus

Hey Anang,

Sorry for the late response.

Thank you very much for your reply. Unfortunately this still isn’t fixing my issue – leading me to think there is something forcing this in settings.