wild cards and ssl for subdomains

I got this note on wp..
"You run a Multisite installation with subdomains, but your site doesn't have a wildcard certificate. This leads to issues when activating SSL networkwide since subdomains will be forced over SSL as well while they don't have a valid certificate. Activate SSL per site or install a wildcard certificate to fix this."
However, my cPanel shows that i have a wildcard ssl installed. I am new to this side of the IT world. Please can you assist a newbie

• Adam Czajczyk

Hello Daelan

I hope you're well today and thank you for your question!

I checked your site and the certificate that it's using and it seems to be valid only for your main domain. You can see it for yourself by opening the site in Chrome browser, clicking on a padlock on a left to the site URL and then on "Certificate" link there. The field "Issued to" contains only your main domain, without * in front of it, which means it's not a wild-card certificate.

There's also a check here that you can run on your site:

https://www.digicert.com/help/

It doesn't confirm it's a wild-card certificate.

That being said, if you can see in a cPanel that the certificate is supposed to be a "wild-card" one, are you sure that you're checking the certificate for a right domain? Is that a paid or a free certificate (issued via cPanel's Auto-SSL)?

Best regards,
    Adam

• Daelan

Hi Adam,

And thank you for your reply. If you don't mind me going back a few steps and explaining myself first.

As I said before I'm new to this SSL thing and my coding experience hasn't ever covered SSL etc.

What I need to know is what is the difference between a subdomain in cPanel and a subdomain in WordPress?

I created a subdomain in cPanel and then installed wp and it gave me a new environment on wp. What I'm trying to achieve with not much luck (and way tooo much effort) is, create the subdomain in wp or cPanel and have it listed with the necessary ssl certificates etc.