WordPress: Issues, Updates, Glitches, Etc...

Hello,

I've been working with WordPress for about 9 months now. I would consider myself advanced in regards to WordPress work. I am fairly proficient in CSS and HTML, with a tiny bit of PHP and MySQL skill.

I currently have about 5 sites that I created and that I manage. 4/5 of these sites seem to always have little problems here and there. I use Elegant Themes, WMPU plugins, and a few random plugins here and there. But I have one client who has an issue every week.

For example, Appointments+ isn't accepting appointments for certain time slot. Or WPMU Events isn't showing any RSVP's. Or my spam protection is marking all the sites users as spammers and blocking them.

I know that my development cycle isn't as refined as it could be, and that my processes could be a little better defined. I also know that Webmastery and Development is a constant give and take between users, clients, browsers, and me.

My question: Is it normal to have things glitch out or go awry this often?

I would love to be able to build sites that I could hand over to clients, rather than be the go to guy every three days.

Thank you,

Peter

• Zyniker

The answer to your question largely depends on the client. Some clients will not tinker with the backend and other things, and they will see relatively few problems. Other clients will constantly get themselves into trouble by rooting around in places they'd be better off not going. If you find that a particular client is giving you trouble, then you might want to look into closing off parts of the backend that are allowing the client to create issues. This can be done through plugins or code in functions.php.

• Vaughan

Hi @Peter

As @zyniker so eloquently put it, It can vary. sometimes you get no issues at all, sometimes you get 1 or 2. Sometimes the client decides they want to use something in a way that it wasn't designed to be used, or they change a setting & not realise exactly what happens.