WordPress Notifications not working on Amazon EC2

Wondering if anyone else is running into this issue. I'm fairly new to Amazon AWS, but my team and I recently built and moved all of our WordPress sites over to a new EC2 instance for scaling WordPress. I've utilized many of the WPMU plugins here to launch our own WP networks. Then I noticed a few days ago that none of my contact forms we working on any of our WP sites. I then noticed that the standard WP notifications (when creating new sites, or using the "Forgot Password" link) were not sending emails either.

I went through a few days of troubleshooting - disabling plugins, updating WordPress, even installing a fresh version of WP, even installed a completely new WP website under a new domain name. Nothing seems to fix the problem.

I have a few support emails and posts out to various sources, but I wanted to try here as well because it seems we are all more 'seasoned' WP users and know a bit more about the development/technical aspect of running WP, networks, etc. Maybe someone else is/has experienced this problem with Amazon AWS and can help?

Much thanks in advance!
Shawn

• Philip John
    • DEV MAN’s Apprentice

Hiya,

There are a few members here using the likes of AWS so hopefully they'll see this and chime in.

Obvious things to do as far as I can see is ensure that PHP is able to send mail. Try writing a simple script to send a test e-mail. If that doesn't work you know that PHP can't send e-mail.

Then you can check the SMTP server etc....

Phil

• Barry
    • DEV MAN’s Mascot

Make sure you have installed a mail server on your instance so you can actually mail out, or have set up you WP install to use smtp and are pointing it to an external smtp server. Then make sure you haven't blocked outgoing traffic on your mail servers port (25 I think).

• borellidesigns
    • Flash Drive

@Chris - I'm 99.9% positive phpmailer is turned on, but I will check now.