Workflow with localhost and hosted server

I am new to WP and have set up WPMU with 4 sites on my localhost with MAMP (free version) to start with. I really like this setup, it is responsive and if something goes wrong, it is not affecting the external world. Now as the sites are growing, the next step I need to think of is how to deploy my sites and afterwards download to and upload from the hosted server (with a provider) when I do further iterations of my site.

I understand that links and other references in general are causing problems when "moving" an installation between a local host and a server. Can I use cloner in my workflow later or do I need to choose another tool as Serverpress? What are my options? Which links and references are problematic and are there any tools to get links right after making the move?

Sorry for this very generic and specific question, but I think it is also interesting for other users that want to move beyond a basic Wordpress configuration.

• Ash

Hello @Michael

Welcome to WPMU community!

I hope you are well today and thanks for asking the question.

The only problematic part is the site URL. Did you setup 4 multisites or 4 single sites?

This is a tutorial from codex to move a wordpress site: http://codex.wordpress.org/Moving_WordPress

If you please let me know more details about your wordpress site, I can describe more.

Please let me know.

Cheers
    Ash

• Michael

Well, the websites will be about teaching and learning with a focus on ICT in primary. I will share articles, learning materials, product tests and other supportive material. The site will be divided into four parts, one under the domain name, and three with subdomains. It's a Multisite project.
    I am using the Divi Theme from ElegantThemes, the main website is work in progress and working fine so far, it is amazing with what little effort you can create a really nice website, and then gain more time for real engaging content.