wp-admin directory forwarding to upgrade.php

Hi. I'm having a problem logging into the Wordpress control panel on a particular site (www.agncn.org). I am not a WordPress expert by any means, although I do have a decent amount of online experience (I'm a longtime Expression Engine user).

When I try to login to the control panel by visiting http://www.agncn.org/wp-admin/, I am automatically forwarded to http://www.agncn.org/wp-admin/upgrade.php?_wp_http_referer=%2Fwp-admin%2F. If I go to http://www.agncn.org/login.php, I get the login form, but when I try to login, I am forwarded to that same upgrade.php url.

I have tried renaming the plugins directory (thinking that perhaps there was a corrupt plugin causing the problem), but that didn't help. I also tried renaming the .htaccess file in the wp-admin directory, that but that didn't help either.

Any ideas on why something like this might be happening?

Thanks in advance for any help you can offer - I really appreciate it. I was also planning on asking you some WordPress security questions, but I noticed that you have a video series on WP security, so I'll probably consume that first.

Sincerely,

Frank Johnson

Patrick

Hey there @Frank

Welcome to the forums, glad to have you aboard!

Renaming the plugins folder is a tried-and-true method to deactivate all plugins when you suspect a conflict... don't forget to change it back to plugins though

However, renaming the htaccess file can wreak havoc on your site as WordPress requires it for permalinks among other things.

Speaking of which, have you modified the default htaccess file in any way? Added any redirection rules to it? Do you perhaps have any plugin/script running that has redirection rules for admin logins?

Frank

Hi Patrick. Thanks for the amazingly quick response! A couple of follow-ups:

1. I changed the name of the plugins directory back once I saw that it wasn't working (and I would have renamed it back afterwards anyway).