WP Sites, Clients, Contracts, and Agreements

Hello,
I'm hoping this is the right place to start this discussion. I've been working with WordPress for about 3 years now. I've converted old client sites to WP and I've used a couple themes, built custom themes, etc.

I'm finding that I'm not getting the monthly revenue that I use to when I built static websites because clients would normally come back to me every month or so with updates which I could bill for. Now with WP, they are able to update their own websites. They only contact me now when they want to add additional functionality or have issues, or need some guidance. Most the time, they won't contact me again until they have broken something by updating WP or a plugin. Which is always a fun thing to try and fix :slight_smile:

I'm wondering what you guys do or offer to your clients. Do you offer a monthly, quarterly, yearly contract for support? Where once a month or every 3 months you will check on the site, make sure WP and plugins are updated? Do you send out a newsletter letting clients know that WP has been updated and charge time for updating? What do you think would be a fair rate to charge clients for this type of support?

I just want to make sure my clients are being supported and taken care of before they run into an issue. But I also like the idea of recurring revenue for providing support to my clients. Please let me know your thoughts and ideas!

Thanks,
Jackson

• Mason

Hiya Jackson,

Great question. I'm moving this to the Advanced WordPress Discussion forum as it feels more appropriate :slight_smile: