WPMS Mapped Domain Login Issues

Hi WPMU Dev Staff / Community.

I have a Sub-domain WPMS with mapped domains. I followed steps 4-7 of this guide from Kinsta (note I do not host with Kinsta) to set it up natively:

https://kinsta.com/knowledgebase/wordpress-multisite-domain-mapping/

Everything is working fine, except that I am not auto logged in to all the sites in the network.

For example as a super admin, I login to the main site / primary site on the network (https://network.com/wp-login.php), everything works as expected and I can access the main site and network settings just fine. However, when I go to: My Sites->Network Admin->Sites and click on the "Dashboard" link under the mapped subsite I wish to access, it prompts me to login again, so I have to enter my super admin details again to access the subsite.

My questions are

1) Is this standard / expected behaviour (double login as described above), or should a super admin be logged in automatically to all subsites?

2) If this is standard is there a way to still allow super admins to only have to login to the main/primary site? If it's not standard behavior and something is wrong, any ideas where to look or what might be causing this to happen?