WPMU Chat

Hello. I recently purchased the WPMU chat plugin to use for customer support. Right now, it works as a chat room, but I’d like to use it for 1-on-1 chats with customers. In your demo video you show a quick clip of it being used for support. How can I do this?

I’m a developer, so if there’s an advanced solution, I’m open to that too.

• Griphon Marketing
    • Flash Drive

After looking at the code, I can see how this could be done. The trick is what happens when more than one customer is on your web site at a time. There is nothing in the plugin to allow for multiple instances of the chat interface, so though I could custom code it so that non-logged in users only see there own chat, and the chat of logged in users AKA Admins, it would also mean you would be talking to one and the other would see your chat. I will look closer, and maybe figure out a way to allow you to tag each chat for a specific users, but on quick look, I don’t think that will so easy to do.

• Paul
    • The Green Incsub

@RefreshThePage.com,

you are correct with the current codebase there is not an easy way to do this. Which explains why it has not been done up to now. I’m currently working on a full rewrite of the plugin. So will be including support chat logic.

• Paul
    • The Green Incsub

@timstrifler, @eric_schwarzer, @ryan_joseph,

I’ve been working on a rewrite of our chat plugin. The first stage is almost complete which is a full cleanup of the coding and logic. Trying to add some request features like user lists and IP banning. Simple thing.