WPMU DEV updates problem

Question 1. I'm new to this, every-time I load a plugin into my muplugins folder I add update-notifications.php for updates but FTP overwrites it everytime. Do I need to rename update-notifications.php for every plugin or just overwrite it everytime????

Question 2. I hit update in WPMU DEV under admin and I get this:

Permission Denied
Not Found / No Access

The page you are looking for either does not exist, or you do not have the permissions to access it.

Thank you

• Mason
    • DEV MAN’s Sidekick

Hiya and Welcome to WPMU DEV!

Sorry about the confusion, let's see if we can get this cleared up. ;D

Do I need to rename update-notifications.php for every plugin or just overwrite it everytime?

Just once is sufficient. It's included with each download from the site here so that regardless of what plugin you grab it is available to be installed. Install it once, and then don't worry about it unless an update for the "updates notification" plugin is released. Speaking of which...

I hit update in WPMU DEV under admin and I get this:
    Permission Denied
    Not Found / No Access

This plugin is actually in the midst of a bit of an overhaul. The developers are working hard to put out an update to fix this and tweak a few other things. The plugin should update itself correctly every 24 hours or so, but this is an issue that other have reported as well and we're on it! :smiley:

Thanks for your question and feedback!

• drmike
    • DEV MAN’s Mascot

Last I knew, the update notifications plugin is known to not be working correctly. Not sure what the status on it is currently.

Have to admit though that I wouldn;t be using the plugin (or Automattic's built in upgrade either) even if it did work. Especially on a live site. You should be testing on a testbed first to make sure you have no conflicts, no errors or bugs, and no other problems. And then updating the live site.